10 (#not) Books To Read This Summer || If Your TBR Kills You Don’t Sue Me

Well. It’s time. (High time. After all, it’s only the END of July. -_-) If you have too much time on your hands this (or, the rest of this) summer, here are 10 books to add to your TBR pile! *bookworm cheering that slowly becomes muffled as their tbr falls on them*

Summer TBR

Photo via Google Images, Editing mine, feat PicMonkey (yes, that is an actual pile of books and it hurts my eyes to see the mutilated books too)

This blogpost is mildly influenced by Olivia and Grace Anne. Their books are more of the classic/historical fiction genre (more of what I like), but I’m a weird reader that reads all sort of weird stuff, while still being really picky about the genres that I like, so I’m going to be writing about more ‘modern’ books in my post.


I’m going to divide this post up into several categories and list several books in each category. These books, instead of being my TBR for the summer (because my TBR literally changes every other day, as it depends on what book I have at the moment), are books I’m forcing suggesting you to read over the summer! They are all my FAVORITE FAVORITE books, and I 100% recommend, with the exception of two, which you’ll see in the blurb. 🙂

Christian Fiction

  1. This is the A Time of Grace trilogy by Alicia Ruggieri, and it’s an absolutely BEAUTIFUL series, with a story of God’s grace and redemption, following three different point of views of a continuing story. It’s SO WELL WRITTEN. I SO HIGHLY recommend!!

a-note-yet-unsung

2. I’ve actually reviewed A Note Yet Unsung by Tamera Alexander already on my blog! It’s a great story about an extremely talented woman musician trying to find her place in a world where male musicians dominate. As a musician, I LOVED reading it! (BEWARE, though, the romantic scenes are a *bit* much at places, and there are some mentions that are not as appropriate for younger readers. More details here)

3. Andora’s Folly is an Pandora’s Box retelling by Abigayle Claire, and it’s releasing July 29th! I’m on the Launch Team for the book, which means I’ve already beta read it, and Y’ALL SHOULD READ IT!! Also, you can preorder the book here!

Contemporary

4. I really haven’t done enough flailing over this series on my blog. The Serena Jones Trilogy by Sandra Orchard is a modern Christian suspense/murder/FBI story trilogy, featuring young FBI agent Serena Jones. They’re all fast paced mysteries, and often I can’t keep up (which is a good thing!) with the mystery. There is also a light romance (it’s the sweetest), and the characters are witty and well-defined and the love triangle is the most effortless one to read! THIS COULD WELL BE MY FAVORITE CHRISTIAN FICTION EVER)

5. I actually haven’t read The Color Project, partially due to the fact that it’s not releasing for another month. However, there is already an INSANE amount of hype on twitter (the author’s twitter generating a lot of it), and the reviews for the ARCs that I’ve seen have all been positive!

Dystopian

6. But really, if you haven’t read The Hunger Games, can you say that you’re well-read? (I don’t necessarily recommend the other two; they’re not as good as The Hunger Games itself.) And if you’ve been living entirely under a rock, The Hunger Games is a YA dystopian book that is, in my opinion, THE foundation for all YA fiction.

7. The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry is another dystopian series, but it’s less gory and violent, making it suitable for younger readers (starting age 11ish). The storyline is so well tied together AND THE FIRST BOOK AND THE LAST BOOK. OMGNS. YES. My favourite out of them is Gathering Blue, so basically I RECOMMEND ALL OF THEM OKAY?

8. The Blood Race by Kate Emmons is another book that hasn’t been released yet. I’ve had the privilege of receiving an Advanced Reader Copy, and I’m so excited for its release!  (If you’re interested in winning a free copy, head over to Kate’s Website and subscribe to her newsletter!) Basically, it’s basically a secular Christian A Wrinkle in Time meets The Giver meets The Raven Boys! SO YES READ IT WHEN IT COMES OUT.

Historical Fiction

9. These two books by Ellen Klages are about two girls living during World War II on the New Mexico base when the United States was trying to develop the atomic bomb. The science talk and the friendship and World War II and AHH YES.

10. What can I say? If you haven’t read The Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, what have you been doing with your life? These are MUST READS. They follow the life of Laura growing up in the developing United States, living the pioneer life. These were my FAVOURITE books growing up, and definitely a set I’m bringing to college, because YAS.

11. Yet another CLASSIC FAVOURITE. Cheaper by the Dozen follows the story of a family of a dozen children headed by a motion study expert and the hilarious adventures that ensue. Belles on their Toes, the sequel, is also hilarious and the writers, two of the kids, are AWESOME.

Fantasy

Princess Academy

12. Princess Academy is one of the only fantasy books that I really, really liked. The storyline is so well connected and tied together and ASADJHKGFDL YESSS. I also did a review on Princess Academy, and I highly, highly recommend that you read it! There are two other books in the series, but I don’t really recommend it as much as Princess Academy.


SPEAKING OF WHICH, I actually have a [sort of] Bookstagram! It’s actually my blog instagram, but because this is The Summer For Books, I’ve been posting book photos there.

And that’s it! #sorrynotsorry for adding (much more than) 10 books to your summer TBR! Please tell me if you read any, or have read any, or want to read any! I really, REALLY recommend each of these books, and you won’t regret them, I promise

Have you read any of these books? Which one looks the best to you? Do YOU have any book suggestions for me?

18 thoughts on “10 (#not) Books To Read This Summer || If Your TBR Kills You Don’t Sue Me

  1. The Serena Jones series is so good! I recently finished the last one and I LOVED the ending!!❤️

    Princess Academy is really great too, though it’s been a while since I’ve read it. One of my all time favorite books is The Goose Girl by the same author – have you ever read that one?

    I’ll definitely have to put some of these others on my TBR! Which is already super big, but, you know. You gotta do what you gotta do😂 Great post!! – Abi

    Like

    • UGH YESS THE SERENA JONES SERIES IS SO GOOD AND YES I LOVED HOW IT TURNED OUT.

      I don’t think I’ve read anything else by Shannon Hale, except for the Princess Academy Trilogy. I’ll have to look into it!

      hehehehe *mission accomplished*
      Thanks, Abi!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love love love Princess Academy! It gives me good memories of being stuck in a dance studio and just reading while the song “International Love” played and my second book (an anthology of Calvin and Hobbes, because you can never go wrong with them) at my side. I checked out The Giver, because I did see the movie and wanted to see how to book was, but I never got down to it. 😥 I also read The Blood Race, and it was pretty good!

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Like

    • ahhhh yess Princess Academy is so good!!

      I really recommend The Giver! You should check it out again if you have the chance!! 🙂

      (AND YES THE BLOOD RACE. IM SO EXCITED FOR ITS RELEASE)

      Like

  3. Ahhh so many memories here! I read a lot of these in my childhood. :’) I grew up reading Lois Lowry and Laura Ingalls and I read The Hunger Games when I was a teen and it like started me on YA and blogging! SO MUCH LOVE FOR THE WHOLE SERIES AHH!! 😀 And that’s super nice of you to explode everyone’s TBRs. 😉

    Like

  4. I’ve heard really good things about Sandra’s books, and “The Color Project” is getting LOTS of buzz. I haven’t read either one though. Hope your summer TBR plans go well, Hanne. 🙂

    Like

  5. Ahhhhhhh the color project looks so great!!! I can’t wait to get my hands on it!!! I absolutely love the author of Princess Academy!! Have you read any of her other books? Goose Girl is my favorite. Obviously Hunger Games is like so great!!!
    Epic post!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

