What Happened This Month: February 2017

WHTM February17.jpg

Highlights-

  • Science Olympiad invitationals AND Science Olympiad Regionals. (What is SciOly?)
  • Doing a cover reveal for Rebekah Eddy!
  • Learning the words to Guns and Ships (because, it’s of the highest necessity)
  • Valentine’s DayValentine's Day.jpg

Awesome-

  • Instagram stories
  • Winning a book giveaway
  • ARCs
  • Library trip
  • Actually having some sort of an instagram theme
  • Finishing the entirety of Hamilton in one sitting
  • Reading an really inspiring book and arranging music inspired from the book after reading it
  • When you’re at the library and there’s this kid being trained for a library job, and you legit know everything that he’s learning just because you come so often
  • When you realize that google photos can open straight onto PicMonkey
  • When you find typos in a book

Awkward-

  • When you don’t really tweet all month so have no points for your monthly recap post
  • When you write a blogpost about InCoWriMo but then don’t actually do it…
  • When you spell “adrenocorticotropic hormone” right but misspell “secretes” #scienceolympiadanatomy
  • When you realize that you have an essay due….yesterday at 5pm
  • Realizing how bad you sound on violin
  • When you attempt to go downstairs quietly so as not to wake up your family, then end up tripping and falling down the entire flight of stairs
  • You spend 2 minutes searching up “not esteemed synonym” when you could have just searched “esteemed antonym”
  • Going to piano lessons when you haven’t practiced piano in a month

That Moment When-

  • Your computer is really confuzed as to whether you use PicMonkey or Pinterest more and try to suggest both at once when you search
  • You realize that all three of your “music” tabs have Hamilton open
  • You realize that the plural of analysis is made by changing out the vowel, so analysis to analyses
  • You learn that meconium (a newborn’s poop) comes from when the baby ate its own skin particles in utero
  • You have 151 tabs open and suddenly one starts playing music

Practicing-

  • Wyman’s Silvery Waves Original Theme with Variations, piano (we’re *almost* done with this one omgns)
  • Bach’s Inventio 5, piano
  • Chopin’s Valse Op. 64, No 2; piano
  • Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata
  • in my defense I didn’t have piano lessons nearly all month, and almost all of January too, so
  • New music for flute for band:
    • Lincolnshire Posy (what the composer was on while he was composing, I don’t know)
    • Suite of Old American Dances
    • The Stars and Stripes Forever
    • Exaltation by James Swearington (what a name)
  • A few jazz pieces for Bari Sax that I play on bassoon for jazz band
    • A String of Pearls
    • Blessed Assurance
    • Carnaby Street
    • Chattanooga Choo Choo
    • Pennsylvania 6500
    • Sweet Georgia Brown
    • and several others that I’m too lazy to stand up and go look for right now

Blog News-

Posts-

Links-

Stats-

  • Views- 352
  • Visitors-222
  • Countries Viewed From-
    • United States
    • India
    • Australia
    • New Zealand
    • Germany
    • France
    • Canada
    • Hungary
    • Singapore
    • United Kingdom
    • Indonesia
    • United Arab Emirites
    • Philippines
    • Brazil
    • South Africa
    • Romania
    • Mexico
15 thoughts on “What Happened This Month: February 2017

  1. OMG I just started learning a Chopin Valse but I don’t know if it’s the same and I’m too lazy to go and find my music to find out. Also do you have to transpose for Barisax to bassoon? In band I’m playing the Olympic Spirit, Prelude, Siciliano, and Rondo, and October, fun fact. (Some of them are on piccolo, even though I have no clue what I’m doing, haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh fun! Chopin wrote lots of Valses, so idk if you’re playing the same one as I am.

      Yes, you transpose, but it’s not hard because you read the treble line as bass, and add three flats, so the only part it gets tricky is when there’s accidentals.

      Ooh, fun! Who are the composers? I recognize several of the titles, but am not sure if they’re the same ones as ones I’ve heard.

      Like

      • I just checked, and it’s op. 64 number 1, if you’re curious, haha. The composers are (I think) Malcom someone, John Williams, and Robert someone? I wish we played more (aka any) female composers though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh op. 64 no. 1 is the Minute Waltz! I played that one a couple months ago (August ish, idk).

        ooh, John Williams is awesome! We played several pieces by him last year, and it’s so much fun. I think Robert Schumann is the composer you have, because I think he wrote Siciliano and maybe Prelude as well…?

        Female composers are rarer, I think, because there were just fewer, throughout musical history. The only one I actually know of is Clara Schumann (and even so, I’m not sure if she composed or just played).

        Like

      • (actually it was Eric Whitacre, hahaha)
        Clara Schumann did compose, and there are a few female composers for young band, but generally there just aren’t that many.
        😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yea, I find female composers more for beginner band (method books and the like)…I suppose the female specimen is just poorer at writing music? hmmmm…..

        Like

      • I think it’s about centuries of sexism, actually. I presume entering the business is hard and takes practice, which is why there are fewer for advanced band.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you had a busy month! Oh my, I relate to your story about the trainee kid in the library. I’m the same. Libraries are so good. 🙂 And doesn’t it feel like such an achievement to find a typo in a book?!

    And yay, Australia’s on your stats list! I’m glad to boost your views from this part of the world. 😉

    I enjoyed this fun post, Hanne! I hope you have a great March. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

