Book Review: The Wish by Beverly Lewis

9780764212499

About the Book:

Leona Speicher got the “sister” she always dreamed of the day Gloria Gingerich and her family moved to Lancaster County. The Arkansas newcomers seemed to the answer to Leona’s prayers–until Gloria’s father is expelled from their Old Order Amish church for reasons no one will discuss. Much to Leona’s dismay, the Gingeriches suddenly pack up and disappear. Then, after a silence of several years, Gloria unexpectedly contacts Leona, who makes up her mind to go after her friend. Yet Leona’s fiancé–the deacon’s son–is alarmed. Will Leona’s dearest wish lead to her own undoing?

My Review:

I don’t think I’ve read Beverly Lewis books before (aside from probably a couple that I just don’t remember XD), but if this book is an indicator, I’m going to love her books!

This book is so sweet. It’s about two girls who become “sisters” and have a super strong bond…until one of them, Gloria suddenly moves away.

Three years later, she suddenly contacts Leona (the other girl), because she is in trouble. Leona decides to go after Gloria and help her.

I really appreciate how God-centered the book is: they are constantly praying and hoping for return to the church.

I like how this book was so different from all other Amish fiction, whether romance or not. It’s not very romantic (although there is some, which I guess apparently is a crucial part in all Amish teenage life?), but focused instead on the friendship between Gloria and Leona, and the storyline is just so good.

There was a beautiful ending, everything resolved, without any more questions as to “what next?”

RockandMinerals4Him rating-

10/10

Thank you to Baker Publishing Group for sending me a free print copy for my honest review; I was not required to write a positive review.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wish by Beverly Lewis

  1. Sounds like an interesting book!
    I actually met an Amish man at church last Sunday. Well he is ex Amish. We got talking about Amish fiction (he has read some because he finds what they say about the Amish interesting) and he says that Amish fiction really romanticizes the Amish life.
    He recommends reading “Growing up Amish” by Ira Wagler and “Runaway Amish Girl” by Emma Gingerich for a real look at the Amish life.
    I just thought I’d set you straight since this line from your review “although there is some, which I guess apparently is a crucial part in all Amish teenage life?” really surprised me. 🙂 It’s definitely not all roses and Amish FICTION is only written because people are curious about such lifestyles.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that’s cool! I have Mennonite friends (quite a few, actually), and they work with Amish girls. From what I’ve heard from them, the Amish girls there are also often obsessing over when they get to date and stuff. Granted, this is second year information and also it’s just a select group, but that my “I guess apparently” basis.
      I’ll have to check out those books sometime!
      Thank you for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

