Cranberry Sauce||Holiday Recipe 2016

For Thanksgiving, my signature dish is always cranberry sauce. It’s a very simple recipe that I simply got off of AllRecipes.

Ingredients-P1010247

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 (12 ounce) package fresh or frozen cranberries

Directions-

  1. PlacP1010265e the sugars, orange juice, water, and cinnamon in a heavy saucepan, and stir to dissolve the sugar. Add the cranberries and bring the mixture to a boil.
  2. Cook over medium heat until the berries pop, about 10 minutes. Mash the mixture with a spoon to pop any unpopped berries and help thicken the sauce, if desired, and reduce heat to low and simmer P1010271until the sauce is the desired thickness, up to 10 more minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat, pour the sauce into a bowl, and chill until serving time. Sauce will thicken as it cools.

P1010277

Since we were going to a Thanksgiving potluck, I decided to double the recipe, which resulted in-

P1010282

The sauce is pretty sweet, to the point where I don’t especially enjoy it much. I ended up using 3/4 cup sugar, instead of 1 cup of sugar, because it was just too sweet for me to enjoy, although it wasn’t unbearably sweet. It gels very well, and it is quite firm.

One thing that I dislike about this recipe, though, is its use of orange juice. This lends to an acid-y, sour, citrus-y flavored cranberry sauce, which is something I don’t appreciate in my cranberry sauce. The odd mix of tart and overly sweet made for an unpleasant jolt to the taste, and I doubt that I’ll try this recipe again in the future.

I’ve made cranberry sauce (not this recipe) every year for the past three or four years, and it’s always very well received. I recommend this recipe if you like orange-y tasting cranberry sauce, although if you don’t like very sweet cranberry sauce, then use about 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup.

RockandMinerals4Him rating- 7/10

cropped-screenshot-25.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce||Holiday Recipe 2016

  1. Oooh, yummm! That looks absolutely delicious. I’m sure everyone loves it – I would! I will definitely try this sooner or later, you are doing a fantastic job on annually making such lovely foods!

    All the best,
    The Girl Under The Golden Sun

    Like

Leave a Reply

