What’s in My Bullet Journal: Overview Edition || Bullet Journaling

So this thing called bullet journaling has been around for a bit now, and is gaining more popularity as it goes along.

And naturally, since it has to do with making your handwriting pretty, I wanted to join in. As a matter of fact, the first time I started a bullet journal was in April of this year, but that never worked out, due to my lack of time and my perfectionism.

However, this school year, I was looking for a new method to keep track of the two million things I had to do, I came back to bullet journaling. It has had stellar reviews about how well it worked, and since it was the beginning of the year (aka I had a little more time), I started one again.

It’s now been about a month and a half, and I’ve posted a couple times already on my blog (here and here) and on my Instagram with pictures, because bullet journals are JUST SO AESTHETIC!

I didn’t actually think to write posts about my BuJo (as it is abbreviated), until Lydia asked me on Instagram if I blogged about BuJoing. I’m SO glad she suggested it: I honestly haven’t been so excited about a post on my blog for so long.

As a matter of fact, I’m going to have a little series here on BuJoing, and this is the first post: the Overview.

Let’s get started!

What's in my BuJoOverview.jpg

My bullet journal is a simple normal school-use graphed paper book. People often talk about the Leuchtturm or the Midori Traveler’s Notebook that they use, but since they cost like $20 for each notebook, I don’t think I’ve gotten quite that serious…yet.

So the first thing that everyone says to make is the Index. The Index is basically the Table of Contents in your Bujo. Mine is fairly simple and straightforward–it lists the page contents and the number.

Index.jpg

Next I have my overview page. This page is basically a catchall for all the maintenance stuff like the key, goals, important dates, and a motivational phrase.

YearGoals.jpg

Next up is the yearly spread, or page. Since I started mine at the beginning of the school year, I had mine start in August, and go until July.

Year.jpg

I also tried a page for my Quarterly Focus Finder (where you plan for each quarter of the year): I haven’t really filled it out very much, but here it is anyways.

QFF.jpg

Now obviously, as we go down into more and more narrow time-chunks, the next spread I have is a monthly spread! Since my November spread looks terrible, here’s my October spread. I’ve put leaves over the daily “things I did” just for privacy, but just know that that was where I tracked what happened each day.

Month.jpg

Next, (surprise, surprise!) is the weekly spread. Usually, for each week, I have a Weekly Focus Finder (where you list your goals for the week), a time tracker, and on this particular week, I had a little thing to mark off things to do each day.

Week.jpg

Some people use their weekly spread to cover their whole week (i.e. the little day-by-day thing is enough for them to log everything they need to get done), but I, as a student, need more space to log all my to-dos and assignments and stuff! So I have a daily spread. Usually, I fit 2 or 3 days onto a page, but this particular spread that I show is one day on the entire page.

Daily.jpg

As you can see, at the top, I have a daily schedule sort of thing. Other people use time trackers, but I usually write up the schedule the night before so that I have structure as soon as I wake up! The schedule is color coded, with stuff I finished completely in red, almost completed in orange, etc. (The key is at the bottom right, if you want to get an idea of how it works.)

Other than the schedule, I have a to-do list of all the assignments and stuff that I need to get done.

So that’s basically my bullet journal! My favorite part/the part I need the most help on are the headers, so here are some of the headers that I have used so far.

weekend

I often have a different spread for the weekend, with only one schedule for Friday, because my weekends are usually more unstructured, but not any less busy!

sticker2stickercalculuselection

Oh, speaking of Election Day, here’s the spread I used for Election Day: it’s such a pretty one that I saw on Instagram and replicated!

electionday

Also let’s just not talk about Donald Trump and how he managed to win and Mike Pence and everything and I’m so happy

For more inspiration, here’s my Pinterest board and here’s a blogpost by Katie Grace about her bullet journal.

If you noticed some pretty coloring stickers that I have on some of the pages, they are Tyndale’s coloring stickers that they sent to me for sharing purposes. They are so pretty!

This post made possible courtesy of my back deck and my next-door neighbors wondering what this crazy girl was doing.

How did you like this peek into my Bullet Journal? Would you like to see more of these posts? Actually, I love making these so much that I don’t actually care what you think but I’d love to know your opinion anyhow. 😛

4 thoughts on “What’s in My Bullet Journal: Overview Edition || Bullet Journaling

Leave a Reply

