Book Review: The Road We Traveled by Jane Kirkpatrick

Book-Cover-The-Road-We-Traveled.jpg

About the Book-

Tabitha Brown refuses to be left behind in Missouri when her sone makes the decision to strike out for Oregon–even if she has to hire her own wagon to join the party. After all, family ties are stronger than fear.

Along with the reluctant daughter and her ever-hopeful granddaughter, the intrepid Tabitha has her misgivings. The trials they face along the way will severely test her faith, courage, and ability to hope. With her family’s survival on the line, she must make the ultimate sacrifice, plunging deeper into the wilderness to seek aid. What she couldn’t know was how this frightening journey would impact how she understood her own life–and the greater part she had to play in history.

With her signature attention to detail and epic style, New York Times bestselling author Jane Kirkpatrick invites you to travel the deadly and enticing Oregon Trail. Based on actual events, This Road We Traveled inspires the pioneer in all of us.

My Review-

So I’m a sucker for historical fiction, and this is yet another historical fiction book that I’m reviewing! (duh)

But seriously, the blurb thing for this book said “based on actual events.” Like seriously, BASED! All the characters (well, all but one) were actual people that Kirkpatrick did research and added life to. I really love when I find books written like this that bring life to historical characters.

This book is written from multiple third-person perspectives, and is written in an almost journal-like form. As with many multiple perspective books, this did tend to become slightly confusing at places.

One cool thing about this book was the names of all the interesting characters: Pherne (pronounced the same way as Fern), Orus, Virgil, and Virgilia (this name is really pretty, in my opinion).

I’ll have to admit, I was a little turned off from the book initially, because of it’s size, and its writing style was a little dry and hard to get through. However, once I got into it, I finished it all in one night (aka I stayed up until ungodly hours of the night reading, as always :P)

Overall, I really liked this book: although it was a little dry at first, it was a really interesting book that documented the Oregon Trail very well.

RockandMinerals4Him rating-

9/10

Thank you to Revell Publishers for sending me a free print copy of This Road We Traveled for my honest review; I was not required to write a positive review, nor did I receive any other form of compensation.

 

Leave a Reply

