Book Review: Where Hope Prevails by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

51lfroctzhl

About the Book

Elizabeth Thatcher’s highly anticipated return to her beloved Coal Valley after a long summer with her family back east is filled with surprises . . . and not all of them good ones, in her estimation. Maybe the worst one of all relates to her treasured students. Can she adapt and learn to cope with this enormous change?
Her Mountie, Jarrick Thornton, hasn’t yet proposed, but she already knows what her answer will be. His duties take him away from the valley much too often, in her view, but the two of them, with patience and understanding–and one significant misunderstanding–are learning to know each other better.
The dark cloud looming on the horizon in Beth’s mind, though, is filled with questions about where their future might take them. As a member of the RCMP, Jarrick is stationed wherever his superiors send him . . . but what about her teaching position in Coal Valley?
Beth attempts to do her best with each obstacle she faces, but does she rightly assess each situation as it surfaces? Good intentions don’t always lead to good results. . . .

My Review

Although I know several people who love Janette Oke’s writing, and although I’ve heard of Oke’s books several times before, I don’t think I’ve ever read a book by her. This book is also the third book in the second serious with the same character list, which makes it really a tad bit confusing for me as I read it.

In this book, I really enjoyed how Beth’s (the main character) Christian worldview was front and center, and how she dealt with the nonChristian co-teacher without lashing out, and the forgiveness she shows him.

I also really liked the character development of Beth: how she learns to live on her own and cook, her change in attitude towards the co-teacher, as well as her preparation to becoming a wife.

As for the storyline itself, I felt like each of the characters were not very well-defined and developed. I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t read any of the previous books, but I got a little lost withing the plethora of characters within the book. I’ll have to say, though, that each of the characters were very established: they each had their own personality and didn’t stray from it. The progression of the plot was really good, and I enjoyed that.

Overall, it was a really good ‘clean’ romance book, with an interesting plotline.

Quotes

Sidenote: does anyone know if this violates copyright rules/regulations?

 

“’I’ve found ya can’t cling to what ain’t gonna be—can’t even build on the ruins till the wishin’ for the what ya wanted first dies away. But it takes time fer that to happen. Often time has ta pass ‘fore you can see them old dead dreams fade to naught. And then, only then, somethin’ else can spring up instead.’”

“‘I think God is always good no mater what we do or don’t do. And He loves each one of us very much too.'”

“Marnie and Beth walked the short hallway into the kitchen in order to muffle their laughter, each spontaneously breaking into giggles again whenever one looked up at the other, triggering more laughter long after they thought they were done.”

RockandMinerals4Him rating-

7/10

Thank you to Baker Publishing Group for sending me a free print copy for my honest review; I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

