Book Review: Swimming with Faith: The Missy Franklin Story

About the Book:_200_360_Book.1906.cover

One of the most talented swimmers in the world today, Missy Franklin has been swimming since she was five years old and hasn’t stopped. From local summer swim leagues all the way to the Olympics, Missy has proven over and over that hard work and dedication can make dreams become reality. But through all of the adventures and challenges that are a part of this determined athlete’s life, Missy has remained true to her heart and faith–making sure that God family, and friends stay top priorities even in the face of the fame and glory that come with achieving goals like Olympic gold and world records in her beloved swimming.

My Review:

I’m not going to lie, I’d never heard of Missy Franklin before I read this book. However, after I read this book, Missy Franklin became one of my favorite swimmers in the Olympics this year. Having read this book before the Olympics helped me at least have some sort of background knowledge going into it.

This book is for kids (<12 years old), so obviously it was written in simplistic language. As a matter of fact, both of my younger brothers (elementary-middle age level) read the book and enjoyed it, so I think it was well written for that age range. I didn’t ask them to read and review the book for me; they came and asked if I could read it. One of them also asked me to read/review several of the other ZonderKidz Biography Series books as well!

This book covers the swimming life of Missy Franklin, starting from when she was 2 and culminating with her training for the Olympics in 2016. One question I have for the publisher: Why on earth did you publish this book BEFORE the 2016 Olympics? Of course, now it makes perfect sense, since Franklin didn’t perform well at the Olympics this year, but before the Olympics it really didn’t make sense.

I really enjoyed how the book was written: how it highlighted Missy’s faith in God (hence, the title), and also how she was so humble about her talent in the water. There is a section where it highlighted all the posts about God on social media, and also several quotes from Missy about her faith in God.

I liked how the book was structured: It waffled between her swimming life and her private life, with interesting endnotes such as “Missy Franklin Fast Facts” or “Missy at 14 {Her High School}”.

I really enjoyed reading this book; however, there were a couple downsides to it as well. The book was written in sort of an essay-ish form, which meant that there were a lot of stats and information, with not a lot of space in between. This was fine, because I like stats and my brothers like stats, but for someone who is looking for more action, it could be a little boring.

There was also a chapter where it covered the Colorado movie theatre shooting in great detail. I understand why it was put there, because Missy lived there, but I feel like there was a little too much detail that was out of place there.

Overall, although it was a little juvenile (which it was supposed to be) and a little too factual, it was a well-written and well-researched book that provided a lot of information before Rio 2016.

Quotes

“We many never know why people commit horrible acts, but we do know that God is always with us, regardless of the events and outcomes. And we know that no matter how painful the event, we can’t let it stop us, keep us from loving our lives. That is not who God would have us be”

“Sometimes all that glitters is not gold. For Missy, the true treasure was in remaining a normal teenager and in returning home to a normal life.”

 

{Missy Quote}

“The people we meet, the experiences we go through, that’s what makes us the people we are, the people we are growing into. This is our time to make mistakes, to learn from them, to learn to shinte. It’s such a beautiful time in your life.”

RockandMinerals4Him rating:

8/10

Thank you to Zondervan for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review via BookLook Bloggers. I was not required to write a positive review.

I’m linking up with Grace and Lace Linkup here!

link-up-image

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Swimming with Faith: The Missy Franklin Story

Leave a Reply

