Rant: Pokemon Go

pokemongo

Not having a phone, I’m usually pretty far behind on current ‘popular’ trends. In this case, Pokemon Go. Yes, I just said it again.

My friend L told me about this new game, Pokemon Go, a couple of weeks ago, and since then, I have been BOMBARDED with Pokemon Go EVERYWHERE!

For those of you who are even more behind than I (I doubt there are many), Pokemon Go is a game basically, where you look for little Pokemon thingies that are scattered around the world, and collect them. Sort of like geocacheing, but electronically.

Part of my annoyance with this game is because I think it is a good idea! It makes people actually get out of the house, and go looking. I’m also very much motivated by collecting badges, achievements, and other stuff like that, so collecting Pokemon thingies (I have absolutely no idea what they’re called XD) is very appealing to me. And I have absolutely nothing against having electronically obsessed people getting out into public and, well, doing stuff!

What I don’t like, however, is how it’s pretty much taken over the world. I can’t think of something else right now that has been so talked about. I’ve found it in real life, on YouTube, and basically all over. the place. Basically, it’s gotten to the point where I’m really really mad at the entire world for even starting this trend.

Yeah, I get it. People like this game and they want to share to the world that they do. Fine. BUT IT DOESNT MAKE ME ANY LESS ANNOYED. NO SORRY POKEMON DONT SHOW UP ON MY BLOGROLL, MY YOUTUBE FEED, MY DESKTOP, GOOGLE, THE WORLD, OTHER HUMANS PLEASE.

And also, it’s kinda creepy. People stopping in random places, and you’re like, yup, Pokemon. The other day, there was a group of teenage boys stopped in front of my house, and I was totally freaked about it, but then realized that they were probably Pokemoning and not planning a robbery or a breakin.

So y’know, if you know where I live and play Pokemon, there’s one in front of my house. XD

Sigh.

I’m realizing that my ranting right now isn’t actually because I’m mad at Pokemon designers. I’m mad because I want to try it. And I’m also glad that I don’t have a phone and can’t do it.

Ugh.

4 thoughts on “Rant: Pokemon Go

  1. Haha I like this post! I agree. The point of the game kinda sounds fun. Like a scavenger hunt almost. It’d maybe be fun with some friends. But I think it’s a waste of time if you’re doing it by yourself. This world these days spend hours on things that could’ve been replaced with spending time with family and friends. I understand how you’d want to play for a little bit though. Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I don’t have a phone either, so I know basically nothing about Pokemon Go, but even so, I’ve noticed how it seems to be taking over everything lately! The idea sounds like a good one “in theory”, but I think it’s kind of gone too far.
    Anyway, great post! 😀

    ~Emily

    Like

Leave a Reply

