Book Review: Mommy Needs a Raise (Because Quitting’s Not an Option) by Sarah Parshall Perry

51phioi-g4l-_sx322_bo1204203200_

About the Book

Women know that raising children will be different from climbing the corporate ladder. But nothing can truly prepare them for the mind-muddling world of motherhood. It doesn’t take long for a new mom to question whether her tyrannical, diapered boss really understands her value to the organization. Because honestly? She’s not always sure herself.

With her signature wit, lawyer-turned-full-time-mommy Sarah Parshall Perry says what all new moms are thinking when they trade annual reports for homework help and yoga pants. Perry invites moms to laugh alongside her amidst the “Are you kidding me?!” moments that come with the job of raising humans. This book is story of every mother who gives up one thing to get something better–and ends up finding out what she’s worth along the way.

My Review

Believe it or not, I really enjoy books about parenting and about kids…and I like them even better when they’re humorous and well written, so when I saw Mommy Needs A Raise (Because Quitting’s Not an Option), I went ahead and requested it, because of that reason, because of the interesting description, and because of that title, which is like perfect. 😀

In short, I had high hopes for the book.

The book is structured so that Perry describes her background, then her pre-kids life, and then her post-kids life.

I thought it was rather odd that the section on her background was so long (about 1/4-1/3 of the book!). It was fine reading, but it was just strange to have that much background information in a book about her kids.

Perry’s writing style was really fun and flowy, sort of like my writing. However, she did often manage to get off on tangents then get back the the point, without any connections, which confused me more than once.

I also felt that she tried a little too hard to be funny, and that just ended up to be….not. The book was really relatable and funny though…at some parts, and there were some great quotes, but not as many as I would have expected/enjoyed.

However….did this book meet my expectations?

Kind of. Because I was looking for a humorous book about raising kids (because I obviously don’t have kids yet), I wasn’t looking for a book on basically her ranting about how much money she lost in law school and yet wasn’t getting paid. That part I didn’t like (which was the main reason I requested it).

The cover didn’t fail to amaze. Not only was the title on-spot perfect, the colors, and the picture, and the TEXTURE…okay, this might be due to my not getting very many new books, but new-book plastic-that-looks-almost-fuzzy-but-not. Oh, I love it!

Quotes

When I lift my hands from the keyboard for so much as thirty seconds, [my kids] think I’m “done” and they swarm me like angry hornets. I have resorted to typing things like “asldkjf wpowo0v mnaodklh” just to keep my fingers moving so they’ll leave me alone.

I think there should be a rule that if you post something stellar you’ve made on social media, you should also post directions on how to do it, and those directions should make it easy. As in, “You could do this in five minutes” easy. Or, “I actually just bought this from a store and heated it up” easy.

“There’s a saying that ‘if you want something done then ask a busy person to do it.’ That’s why I like working with mothers now.”

RockandMinerals4Him rating-

6/10

Thank you to Baker Publishing Group for sending me a free print copy for my honest review; I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

