My Thoughts About…Swearing

I need to express my thoughts sometimes, usually about serious topics that I’ve been pondering or discussing. The counterpart, My Nonserious Thoughts About…(I’m creative, I know) is on my other blog, consisting of lighthearted, non-serious thoughts on serious matters.


I recently finished The Grapes of Wrath and the language within the book triggered a conversation with Rin about language, because she was reading the Selection series, which contain a few unnecessary d-words. It prompted a blogpost from her, and I responded with a comment long enough to be a blogpost…so here’s my blogpost…with the comment+other comments on the comment.

Growing up, I was (and kinda still am!) a “sheltered” homeschooled Christian kid…and never heard any “swearing” per say because I was homeschooled and all my friends were from church, literally the stereotypical homeschooled kid (at least, on Blimey Cow). I still remember how incredibly scandalized I was when I first heard the word “dude.” I use that word on a regular basis now, at least 4 times a day….but we won’t speak of that. One of my first exposures to “language” per say was in a devotional, where they explained that words such as “Gosh,” “Gee,” and “Golly” were misuses of the name of God.

Obviously, this naiivity couldn’t  last long. Around the time I entered middle school  I started using OMGosh (in spite of what the devotional said XD) However, I always felt condemned while using it. In retrospect, I think it was because I simply DIDN’T KNOW any other exclamations to use.

At a farther point in time, I quit using that particular expression, and this point in time is where I don’t remember any “general” use of any particular term.

However, as I’ve gotten older (I refuse to use the term “grown”), and spent more time on the internet and being exposed to more non-Christian, non-filtered stuffs, I learned about other such stuff. The amount of language in “classical” American literature (such as The Grapes of Wrath) really surprises me, although I understand that the authors were trying to express authenticity or whatever. I HATE reading bad words. I’m incredibly annoyed by people who actually print those words. I’m especially frustrated by those who put them up on the internet, where anyone who’s browsing has to get assaulted by a barrage of those words. (and the stuff about that Bible that says guard your hearts and your minds gets severely tested as well).

More recently, though, I’ve been using more “clean” swear words. Don’t even know why–I don’t think it’s to “feel cool” or anything. I think it’s more just like “I know these words, why not use them” but it’s like before. I say them without thinking, but then reprimand myself for saying them. I’m trying to improve; this is a bad habit for me, but I do need to find some “good” replacements for these words that I enjoy using. For instance, I dislike “OMGoodness” because I think it’s too clunky.

Does “shutup” count as a bad word? 

On the other hand, I personally don’t particularly MIND people saying stuffs like “darn” or “WTH” or “freak”…but what truly bugs me is the breaking of the 3rd Commandment, and, like, legit “bad” words.

Okey this post is like really unorganized and whatever, but I’m going off on another related tangent. That make sense?

Anyways, I recently realized how much store I put behind one of what I consider to be a “strong Christian” in my life says. My subconscious seems to say “oh, s/he says it, therefore it most be okay” even though it’s not necessarily true. I’ve noticed that s/he says somethings that aren’t exactly the best…so…I really can’t do that either.

Here’s my actual comment for those actually interested-

Hm. As the apparent instigator of this topic, I gotta chime in at some point, right? 😄

Growing up, I was (and am!) a “sheltered” homeschooled Christian kid…and never heard any “swearing” per say until I entered middle school. At which point I started using [OMG] <the “clean” version>.

At a farther point in time, I quit using that particular expression, and this point in time is where I don’t remember any “general” use of any particular term.

However, as I’ve gotten older (I refuse to use the term “grown”), and spent more time on the internet and being exposed to more non-Christian, non-filtered stuffs, I learned about other such stuff.

I *personally* don’t particularly MIND people saying stuffs like “darn” or “WTH” or “freak”…but what truly bugs me is the breaking of the 3rd Commandment, and, like, legit “bad” words.

Also, I just recently realized how much store I put behind what the C’s say…so subconsciously, I note what they say in my head and go “oh, they say it, so it must be ok.” However, I’m now realizing that that may not be the case as often as I think it is.

IDEK I can’t express my thoughts on this well enough, but w/e. (also, I used the word “stuff” way too much in this post.) I may (if I have time) write a blogpost on this.

Also, my mom “forbids” the use of “shut up” in our family…which is both a blessing and a curse.

What are your thoughts? I’d love to know your thoughts on this subject–I’ve been thinking about this topic a lot.

cropped-screenshot-25.png

P.S. I’m participating in Camp NaNoWriMo again this session, although I probably shouldn’t, because of school life and stuff. I’m doing a really low goal, like around 5K (but I’ll build on the goal if I can do it), just to ensure I can finish. Just wanted to throw that out there.

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts About…Swearing

  1. I’m a little conflicted about it. Overall, I don’t like the use of swearing but at the same time I think swear words are so subjective. They depend on what society says is a swear word and they change and differ between times and cultures. Plus meanings of words change. So that just makes it confusing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was just thinking about this! I just recently learned that “Gosh” was a form of using God’s name in vain… my parents told me not to use it when I was little, but I didn’t know why. It wasn’t “God” directly, so I thought it was okay. But they told me again a few weeks/days ago. ^^;

    Growing up as a public schooler, I’ve heard a lot of curse words, both actual curse words and just “bad” words. I’ve never actually used them, because I knew they were bad… even replacement words, since I knew they just meant the same thing. The worse I ever said was “shut up” and “idiot”, only because I was telling my little sisters not to say them and asking my parents not to say them. I really dislike hearing cursing, because then I know that the words would get sucked up into my brain as a new vocabulary word. I have a lot of friends who curse, one curses almost 24/7… But I learned not to think about it and just ignore it, either by covering your ears or making it come in one ear and out the other. It’s hard, I can tell you that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And I don’t like hearing What the H or and other word in place of it… But I think frikin is a funny word that out shouldn’t say. 😄 But I say I in my brain, which may be bad. ^^;

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

