Ginger Snaps|2015 Bucket List- #3.6

As the year draws to a close, RockandMinerals4Him tries to bash out all the Bucket List summaries for the year, in hopes of getting them all done and posted before the year ends (and has failed).

In August, our county had its county fair. This year, I signed up to enter a cookie basket, not knowing what I was getting myself into! A cookie basket requires 6 cookies of 5 different types in a basket or box which the fair judges, then gives away to charity. I spent almost an entire day baking 5 different batches of cookies…by the end, I couldn’t quite bring myself to look a cookie squarely in the…well…eye.

I did make myself a little chart, though, to show how much of each ingredient to use, to keep me from having about 10 dozen cookies on my hands. It was pretty much splitting the recipe into enough pieces to make about 10, usually by quartering a recipe. As a result, I only had enough cookies to bring to the fair, with not many left over, so I don’t quite remember all the cookies and their tastes and the like, especially since I had 6 batches and also since it is now 3 months after the fair. I’ll do my best to rate them, but I can’t promise that they’re all fair.

Batch- 5 of 6


Ginger Snaps (from Pillsbury: Best Cookies Cookbook , page 82)

Ingredients-

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup margarine or butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup sugar.
  • (Since we didn’t have any cloves or nutmeg that I could find in our house, I used pumpkin spice powder. Bad, I know)

P1230037

Step 1: In large bowl, combine 1 cup sugar, margarine, molasses and egg; beat until light and fluffy. Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, ginger, cloves and nutmeg (or in my case, pumpkin spice powder); mix well. Cover with plastic wrap; refrigerate 1 hour for easier handling (I don’t think I refrigerated it, because I was in a time crunch, but I’d recommend doing so, because the dough was VERY sticky since I didn’t).

molassesdough

Step 2: Heat oven to 350°F. Shape dough into 1-inch balls (which I am meticulous about; I’ll roll them into perfect balls as you’ll see in the picture below); roll in 1/4 cup sugar. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

P1230059

Step 3: Bake at 350° for 8 to 12 minutes or until set. (Cookies will puff up, then flatten during baking.) Cool 1 minute, then remove from cookie sheets.

P1230064

Yield- 5 dozen cookies. (I obviously made less).

Prep time- 1 hour 45 minutes (including 1 hour refrigeration time)

The cookies were on the small side, being slightly bigger than a half-dollar. They were definitely ginger-y, which was probably due to my putting in too much ginger, but they were very good. I will definitely be doing these again in the future. I’m thinking that, made larger, they’d make wonderful Christmas presents.

RockandMinerals4Him rating- 10/10

cropped-screenshot-25.png

Leave a Reply

