Snickerdoodles (2015 Bucket List- #3.4)

As the year draws to a close, RockandMinerals4Him tries to bash out all the Bucket List summaries for the year, in hopes of getting them all done and posted before the year ends (and will probably fail).

In August, our county had its county fair. This year, I signed up to enter a cookie basket, not knowing what I was getting myself into! A cookie basket requires 6 cookies of 5 different types in a basket or box which the fair judges, then gives away to charity. I spent almost an entire day baking 5 different batches of cookies…by the end, I couldn’t quite bring myself to look a cookie squarely in the…well…eye.

I did make myself a little chart, though, to show how much of each ingredient to use, to keep me from having about 10 dozen cookies on my hands. It was pretty much splitting the recipe into enough pieces to make about 10, usually by quartering a recipe. As a result, I only had enough cookies to bring to the fair, with not many left over, so I don’t quite remember all the cookies and their tastes and the like, especially since I had 6 batches and also since it is now 3 months after the fair. I’ll do my best to rate them, but I can’t promise that they’re all fair.

Batch- 4 of 6


Snickerdoodles snickerdoodlesing

From Pillsbury: Best Cookies Cookbook, page 64.

Ingredients-

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine or butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon

Steps-

1- Heat oven to 400° F. In large bowl, combine 1 1/2 cups sugar and margarine; beat until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and eggs; blend well. Add flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt; mix well.

P1230046

2- In small bowl, combine 2 tablespoons of sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon. Shape dough into 1-inch balls; roll in cinnamon sugar. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.

snickerwhilebaking

3- Bake at 400° for 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Immediately remove from cookie sheets.

snickbaked

The cookies turned out pretty good; however, they never did spread out. As shown by the image above, after baking, they stayed small and round and lumpy. The sweetness level was just right, and the texture was great as well! I’ll definitely be trying these again in the future.

RockandMinerals4Him rating- 9/10

cropped-screenshot-25.png

Leave a Reply

