Oatmeal Carrot Cookies|2015 Bucket List- #3.3

Oatmeal Carrot Cookies|2015 Bucket List- #3.3

As the year draws to a close, RockandMinerals4Him tries to bash out all the Bucket List summaries for the year, in hopes of getting them all done and posted before the year ends (and will probably fail).

In August, our county had its county fair. This year, I signed up to enter a cookie basket, not knowing what I was getting myself into! A cookie basket requires 6 cookies of 5 different types in a basket or box which the fair judges, then gives away to charity. I spent almost an entire day baking 5 different batches of cookies…by the end, I couldn’t quite bring myself to look a cookie squarely in the…well…eye.

I did make myself a little chart, though, to show how much of each ingredient to use, to keep me from having about 10 dozen cookies on my hands. It was pretty much splitting the recipe into enough pieces to make about 10, usually by quartering a recipe. As a result, I only had enough cookies to bring to the fair, with not many left over, so I don’t quite remember all the cookies and their tastes and the like, especially since I had 6 batches and also since it is now 3 months after the fair. I’ll do my best to rate them, but I can’t promise that they’re all fair.

Batch- 3 of 6


Oatmeal Carrot Cookies (Pillsbury: Best Cookies Cookbook page 43)

Ingredients-P1230030

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats (I used old fashioned oats, since they were handy).
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup margarine or butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot

Steps-

P1230042
The dough

1- Heat oven to 350°F. Grease cookie sheets. In large bowl, combine all ingredients except nuts and carrot; beat at low speed until well blended. Stir in nuts and carrot. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto greased cookie sheets.

2- Bake at 350°F for 8 to 12 minutes or until edges are light golden brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheets.

P1230054
The finished product

The recipe doesn’t require refrigeration, which makes it a quick, easy, and healthy recipe. It took about 20 minutes from beginning to end, since I wasn’t baking the full batch of the cookies. In the proportions above, the recipe produces about 3 dozen cookies, but as seen by the image above, I only made 10.

The cookies turned out pretty good; however, the combination of nuts and carrot made for a somewhat soggy cookie with unpleasant chunks of hard nuts in it. I didn’t particularly appreciate eating a cookie, soft for the most part, then running into a random piece of nut in it. The carrot taste wasn’t particularly prominent, so I liked that aspect of it. The cookie was pretty soft and formless, apart from the chunks of nuts in it, so if I were to make it in the future (which I probably won’t) I’d lessen the amount of water in it.

RockandMinerals4Him Rating- 5/10

cropped-screenshot-25.png

Leave a Reply

