School-year goals 2015-2016||Back To School 2015

On my “previous” (I actually still have it; it’s just not really active anymore) blog, I made a school goal post for last year (on exactly today!). Here is the list, complete with revisions, as well as this year’s school goals.


2014-2015

  1. Get a 5 in both AP classes Good heavens, I mustn’t have realized how much work AP courses were (since it was my first year taking AP classes). WOW…I got a total sum of a 5….does that count? Probably not. 😄 Fail.
  2. Get A or higher in English I’m not quite sure what I meant by A or higher…did I mean an A+? I’m pretty sure that meant not an A-, though. I did get an A in Lit, so Success.
  3. Get 95+ in Math I’m able to get a pretty high score in math, since I get 100 for completion of the daily homework and the tests are not weighted. I didn’t get an A+ (yes…high expectations…XD), but yes I got more than 95. Success.
  4. Get into Wind Ensemble Unfortunately…I didn’t. At the time of writing, I remember having just gotten into the Symphonic Band (which feeds into the wind ensemble) and being so full of myself. 😛 I didn’t even realize the skill level the Symphonic band was playing at; never mind the level Wind Ensemble was playing at. Fail.
  5. Make SciOly nats without R :/ I still believe that the only reason our Science Olympiad team made Nationals last year (that is, 2014), and did so well was because R (a really hard working teammate) was working really hard, and was inspiring others to work hard as well…and she graduated last year. However, with all of us a year older and more experienced, as well as a great new group of teammates, we managed to make SciOly nats again. However, I’m not sure I should get any of the credit, since I didn’t do very much of the work at all. Success.
  6. Get markedly better in piano. Although I most definitely didn’t expect it, I didn’t take piano lessons for the first half (up until around February) and didn’t practice much either, being too busy with schoolwork and life in general. After February, I started piano lessons again, but once every two weeks. If it had not been for a few really good and very musically talented friends I had, I would not have thought I could have gotten better at all. However, I’ve started playing Chopin, which is my standard of “advanced”, so I do believe I have gotten better over the last year. During the summer, I also attended a band camp, in which I learned the twelve major scales (and 24 of the 36 minors), and so I now feel like I’m adequately prepared (which I’m not) to take on more in the way of music. Success 
  7. Finish 5th speech at speech class. Last year, I discovered that I was going to have to endure another year of speech class (It’s not like I hate it that much, I just felt like everyone there was judging me; so I really didn’t enjoy it). There are 10 speeches total that you have to do, in order to be “guilded”. I had finished the first two the year before, so I had 3 left. However, I didn’t realize what I had gotten myself into when I chose “The Night the Bed Fell” by James Thurber to tell, which is a very precisely worded and complicated story. I had to memorize it word for word, and as a result, I only finished that one speech last year. However, I’m glad to say that we won’t be doing the speech class again this year. Yay!! 😀 Fail
  8. Get A’s in all other courses- As mentioned earlier, I definitely didn’t realize the amount of work I had gotten myself when I decided I wanted to take 2 AP courses on top of a very packed schedule. However, I still managed to get only 1 B. I managed to scrape up at least A-‘s in all my other classes. Fail.

So I got a 4 out of 8, or 50%. Now to see if I can beat that. 🙂


2015-2016

  1. Honor God more in what I do
  2. Get a 5 in at least one AP course (which is really important, because if I don’t get a 5, then I’ll have to go to school next year. :/)
  3. Get a 800 in a SAT subject test.
  4. Take the SAT.
  5. Get at least A’s in all my courses
  6. Play more music, including starting a flute choir.
  7. Volunteer at least 100 hours (I’m homeschooled; what can you do? XD)
  8. Take at least 5 standardized (as in big, important, life/carreer changing) tests

What are your school year goals?

Screenshot (25)

Leave a Reply

