Top 5 Favorite Authors

Now, as an avid reader, I have quite a long list of favorite books and authors that I enjoy. Of course, I’m generally behind of everything “popular” at the moment, and I haven’t read many “popular” books at all, including Divergent, The Hunger Games, John Green, and all that. I’m still kind of reading “kids'” books….but notwithstanding, here are my top 5 favorite authors whose books I’ve read so far-

  1. Linda Sue Park. Author of many enjoyable books including Keeping Score, A Single Shard, The Kite Fighters, Project Mulberry, and A Long Way to Water. I love her writing style, and I really enjoy reading historical fiction, which is what she mostly writes. She is able to play with words in such a way that makes the storyline really come alive, and I love how I am really able to relate to the characters from the book. My favorite book so far has been Keeping Score, because I love books about the World Wars (IDEK why, but I think it’s just because of how everyone was so well-bonded and so thrifty and all that).
  2. Laura Ingalls Wilder. The well-known author of the Little House on the Prairie series, I love, love, LOVE, this series! I must have read all the books at least 5 times, and I’m currently reading through the backstories. Again, I love historical fiction (although it technically isn’t historical fiction), and I love simple life. Her books are wonderful, I love her writing, and I really enjoy the stories.
  3. Beverly Cleary. Although she writes books for younger readers (from around 1st grade to 3rd grade), she is still one of my favorite authors. Her most well-known series is the Klickitat Street series, featuring Henry Huggins and Beezus and Ramona Quimby. Beverly Clearly is able to really capture how children think, and how adults, although meaning well, often misunderstand. My personal favorite character is Ramona, and I love how she is portrayed very realistically, There is no glazing over the “bad” parts of life, including spelling. 😛 I’m very much able to relate to the characters, although the books are set in the 1960s or so.
  4. Elizabeth Enright. Again, a wonderful writer with really relatable books and characters set some time ago. She is SO creative and I love reading her books. My favorite book of hers is Spiderweb for Two, featuring a treasure hunt. I’d say more, but then I’d be spoiling it. ☺ My other favorite books are Gone Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away. I mentioned them in this post earlier, when I made blueberry pie inspired by Foster. ☺ The kids in her stories are so free, and I long to be like them, to be away from computers and smartphones and technology and to be able to go out exploring, to discover caves, and to go swimming, and to camp in haunted houses. (Have I made you sufficiently curious now?). 😛
  5. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The one and only main work of his that I’ve read is The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (of course, I realize that they were published separately, but the version I have is all combined). To me, being able to write mystery stories is nothing short of a miracle. When I write, I’m not able to plan ahead sufficiently enough to be able to write mysteries. To be able to turn out super intriguing mysteries like that is practically genius to me. 😀 Along with crazy plot twists, sinister characters, and a genius, Sherlock Holmes has been loved for more than a century.

These are my top 5 favorite authors to read, even though I have pretty much finished all the books that all of these authors have written (Also, it doesn’t really help that all of them except 1 are dead)… 😄 I’m rereading The Complete Adventures of Sherlock Holmes again, to count for this year’s reading challenge, because I don’t read books with more than 500 pages as a general rule. ☺ I’ve also reread many of Elizabeth Enright’s books this year already, and my family listens to Beverly Cleary’s books on CD (Are we old-fashioned?) practically constantly.

What are your top 5 favorite authors?

Screenshot (25)

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Authors

Leave a Reply

