New Year’s Resolutions Mid-Year update/revisions

Well….this update-every month thing. FAIL. XD (I’m glad I didn’t make THAT my new year’s resolution!)

  • To do devotionals/bible reading every day- Yes….but it’s always being done at around midnight….and so I’m not retaining much. This past month, when a couple of people have suddenly asked, “So…what have you been reading about in the Bible lately??” I haven’t been able to give a single decent reply, mainly because I haven’t been paying much attention to what I’m actually reading.
    • Revised: Do devotionals/Bible Reading everyday + one more chapter of any book in the Bible.
  • Get closer to God- Eh….probably….but just a little. Yesterday, as I was reading 2 Peter 1: 5-8, I suddenly felt really compelled to actually do it and to not be just a self-professed Christian, but to live out my faith much moreEven though I have been reading my Bible daily, I know I still am “ineffective and unfruitful in the knowledge of our Jesus Christ.” Also, I realized that I have been really proud of reading the Bible everyday, such as, “I read my Bible everyday….and you don’t….XD”
    • Revised: Get closer to God + try to live out 2 Peter 1:5-8 + use Memverse (a Scripture memory website) more.
  • Drink more water- Well…I don’t drink as much water as I think I do. This is a mildly ambiguous goal/resolution, and I’m going to specify it more.
    • Revised- Drink at least 5 glasses of water per day.
  • Really become ambidextrous-  I have decided to move this to my bucket list, mainly because I have decided that since I am so dominantly left-handed, learning to use my right hand as well as my left will definitely take much more time than just a year. Besides, Science Olympiad (the original reason why I decided to learn to be ambidextrous- long story, don’t ask) is over, and we did quite well without my having to use my non-dominant hand. ☺
    • Revised- Move this to my Bucket List
  • Not waste so much time- Again, this is a very ambiguous goal/resolution to have, and I would like to specify it more. I am pretty sure that large amounts of time were spent doing non-productive stuff (such as Youtube….a new channel I have discovered, Studio C, is particularly addictive!) and I would like to lessen the amount of time I use to do that kind of stuff. Although….”All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy,” too much play is not a good thing either. At all.
    • Revised- Watch Youtube less than 1 day/week and log the amount of time I spend doing random stuff (of course, this may be hard since I don’t usually go, “Okay….so now I’m going to go waste an infinite amount of time.”)
  • Knit at least 10 skeins of yarn- Well….yeah…..but just kind of. I finished the Pirouette Hat that I mentioned in February, and started another knit bunny.which I have to get stuffing for. I’ll also have to make birthday presents for at least a couple of people this month, as well as a few large objects for the fair next month, so it is still practical.

    • No revisions
  • Get my weight to 100士5 pounds-  I have gotten a little closer to this goal weight…but the amount left to go is much larger than the difference)! This is one goal/resolution that may or may not be reached by the end of this year.
    • No revisions
  • Eat no more than 1 piece of candy per day- As a result of this resolution, I have found out that I am actually really able to refrain from eating candy, and I decided in February that I would pare it back to 1 piece/week. It has worked out pretty well, and I definitely don’t eat as much candy as I used to.
    • Revised- Eat no more than 1 piece of candy per week and no more than 1 piece of “sugar” candy (i.e. not chocolate) a month
  • Get up earlier/Go to bed earlier During testing season (March/April/May), I did get up earlier (around 7.15 or so) just so I wouldn’t be tired while testing (Homeschooler downside!!) ☺. After that….I got up around 8 for the rest of the school year….but after the school year, it has been horrendously non-constant, ranging from between 7:30 to 10:30. I haven’t really been going to bed any earlier- it has always been somewhere between 12-1. This is also a pretty ambiguous resolution; therefore, I am deeming 11:30 as “early bedtime” (of course, this is still pretty late, so this may move as I try to hit it- I am keeping it pretty late still because it is the one that I am having more trouble with) and 7 as “early get-up time (why is there not a good antonym for bedtime?)”.
    • Revision- Get up before 7 and go to bed before 11:30
  • To get Beastmaster accomplishment and to collect 100 mounts on HabitRPG- I got Beastmaster in January, and I’m around 60 mounts now on Habit. My HabitRPG has been restricted, so I’m not as able to get mounts anymore, but I think it’s still feasible.

    • No revisions.
  • To become entirely vegetarian- I heard a great quote recently, “I think I’m mentally vegetarian- I dislike the thought of eating meat and where it comes from but I love bacon too much.” I’m somewhat like that. 

    • No revisions
  • Grow my hair to my waist- This was basically a resolution to see how long my hair could grow….but I’m pretty sure it’s stopped growing already. :/
    • No revisions

New resolutions/goals-

  • Completely “gold” my Spanish Duolingo tree.
  • Generally study harder and try not to drop behind in classes (another homeschooler downside!)
  • Write more, including posting more
  • Keep my room clean
2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions Mid-Year update/revisions

Leave a Reply

